top of page

Purpose, Uses, and Mantras
Traditional Tibetan Buddhist Style Malas

Tibetan Buddhist Style Malas

108 Beads

Full length Buddhist Malas come in 108 beads plus marker beads and a guru bead, though there are many reasons, there are '108 Defilements of Mind', called kleshas or mental poisons.  Yoga teaches us that five main kleshas cloud the mind are ignorance, attachment, egoism, aversion, and clinging to life. These manifest as types of suffering such as anxiety, fear, depression, anger, jealousy and desire, by doing rounds of mantras, one is able to purify suffering. For a shorter round of mantra recitation, 54 or 21 counts are appropriate.


Malas are strands of beads typically used in meditation for counting
mantras. Reciting mantras helps to replace the endless, internal chatter of

the mind with calming syllables that purify karmic imprints, bring beneficial
energy, focus, concentration, and offer protection and blessings. 


Other uses include counting breaths, reciting the name of a deity, counting yoga poses or affirmations. As you use them, the beads will hold your energy and prayers.

Recitaton of Mantras

The guru bead at the top of the mala is the teacher and should not be counted, start by counting the bead next to the guru down one side and stop when you reach the top or guru bead again. You may use your left hand to hold the mala and pass the beads through your thumb and middle, ring or pinky finger. The spaper or marker beads are to let you know where you are in your counting, skip over them and do not include them in your 108 count. If you are doing more than one round, simply turn the direction backwards and go around again without skipping over the guru bead. Keep your mala in a silk bag when not in use.

Types of Mantras

Chenrizig, deity of compassion

"Om Mani Padme Hum"

Green Tara, deity of virtuous activities, remover of obstacles, provider of protection

"Om Tare Tuttare Ture Soha"

Medicine Buddha, healing

"Tayata Om Bekanze Maha Bekanze Radza Samudgate Soha"

Homage to Shakyamuni Buddha (Siddhatha Gautama)

"Om Muni Muni Mahamuni Shakyamuni Ye Soha"

bottom of page